How does gia diamond grade_gia diamond grade mean

The gia diamond is more authoritative for consumers. This diamond is identified by the makers of the 4C standard-gia, and a corresponding diamond identification certificate is issued, which details the grade information of the relevant diamond. Then the gia diamond grade What exactly do you mean? How are gia diamonds graded? Let’s take a look together.

The gia diamond grade refers to the high and low quality grading results of the diamond issued by the professional appraiser. Among them, there is a professional term “4C” formulated by gia, which refers to the weight, color, cut and clarity grade of the diamond; gia diamond The results of the grade appraisal will directly affect the price of a diamond. The higher the gia diamond grade, the more expensive the price

gia diamond certificate

The gia diamond grading standard is basically used worldwide, and it has a very important reference role for understanding the value of a diamond.

How to grade gia diamonds

1, Diamond carat weight measurement

At GIA, a professional appraiser will use a very accurate electronic microbalance to weigh the diamond and determine the carat weight of the diamond. The electronic microbalance can be accurate to five decimal places (ie about one ten thousandth of a carat), but in the end Appraisal results are usually rounded to the nearest three decimal places.

Measuring diamond weight

2, Diamond color grading

gia represents the diamond color with the letters D-Z, where D-F grades represent colorless diamonds, G-J represents near-colorless diamonds, K-M represents yellowish diamonds, N-Z represents light yellow diamonds, and D is the highest color grade, which decreases sequentially.

GIA professional grading appraisers use colorimetric stones to identify diamond color grades in a standardized observation environment. Usually GIA assigns at least two color graders to identify the color grade of the same diamond. For those with inconsistent appraisal results or special diamond weight and quality, GIA will appoint more graders to input color grade opinions. The grade will not be finalized until the opinions are sufficiently consistent. It can be said that the color grading results identified by GIA are rigorous and objective.

Diamond color stone

3, Diamond clarity classification

gia divides diamond clarity into flawless grades (FL), internal flawless grades (IF), very slightly contained grades (VVS1 and VVS2), slightly contained grades (VS1 and VS2), and slightly contained grades (SI1 and SI2) , Contained level (I1, I2 and I3).

The diamond clarity grade identification is carried out under standard observation conditions using a 10-fold magnifying glass. The grader who conducts the initial inspection will carefully examine the diamond to determine the clarity/decoration characteristics of the diamond, and collect evidence of clarity processing such as laser piercing or crack filling.

At least two GIA graders will evaluate the clarity, polish and symmetry of the diamond. Then draw the clarity feature on a picture that best reflects the shape and faceting style of the diamond.

Different diamond clarity levels

4, Diamond cut grading

gia divides the diamond cut into five (Excellent abbreviated as EX), Excellent (VeryGood abbreviated as VG), Good (Good abbreviated as G), Fair (Fair abbreviated as F), and Poor (Poor abbreviated as P). level.

The GIA appraiser evaluated the overall frontal appearance of the diamond according to the diamond grading criteria from excellent to poor cut, thereby predicting the intensity level of brightness, fire and sparkle (diamond flicker and interaction with light). At the same time, GIA also screens each diamond for inspection to determine whether it is a synthetic diamond.

From left to right: bad cut, good cut, excellent cut

Through the above introduction, I believe everyone has a certain understanding of how to grade gia diamonds and what does gia diamond grade mean. Thank you for reading,

Select your currency
USD United States (US) dollar
EUR Euro