Diamond 4C: Weight

The international unit of measurement for diamond weight is “carat”, usually abbreviated as “ct”. Carat weight is one of the 4C standards for diamonds. The weight of the diamond is the easiest feature to measure in 4C and an important indicator of the value of the diamond. Diamonds of the same quality, the greater the weight, the more precious.

Carat weight (CARAT) the source of charm of diamonds!

During the diamond grinding process, the normal loss rate is about 50%-75%, that is, the diamond’s production rate is only 50%-25%. The scarcity of diamond resources, the low output of large-grain diamonds and the low production rate of production and processing determine that large diamonds must have expensive value attributes.

At the same time, in terms of jewelry applications, diamonds must have a certain volume and weight to reflect the attractive optical effect. Small diamonds are too small to express their good enough brightness, so the technique of group setting is often used to reflect their collection effect. Generally speaking, a diamond with a score of 30 or more can better reflect the brightness of the diamond. For the fire effect of a diamond, the weight of the diamond needs to reach 70 or more for a better display. Therefore, carat weight is the basis for diamonds to show beautiful optical effects.

Diamond Weight Unit: Carat Introduction

Carat, as a unit of weight for gemstones, originated from the seeds of a carob tree on the Mediterranean side of Europe. The carob tree has a peculiar phenomenon, no matter where it grows, the fruit it produces bears the same weight. Their weight is between 195-205 mg, which can be said to be almost the same. Therefore, in the history, this fruit has been used as a weight to determine the weight of diamonds. Since 1907, the carob tree has been used as a weight unit for jewelry and precious metals in the world has been unified and standardized. The unit of measurement for diamond weight is carats (CT), 1 carat = 0.2 grams, 1 carat = 100 cents.

How many grams is 1 carat?

How many grams is 1 carat? Diamonds are so small that they are rarely calculated in grams. Now the standard 1 carat = 200 mg = 0.2 g; one carat is equal to 0.2 g. Diamonds weighing less than 1 carat usually use “Point” as the unit of measurement, abbreviated as “pt”. 1 carat = 100 points; 0.75 carat is also called 75 points.

Carat weight

Standard round diamond weight (carat) and diamond size diagram (slight deviation due to different viewing angles):

Comparison of diameter and height of round diamonds with different weights:

Once you have determined the cut, color, and clarity of the diamond, it is easy to find the diamond at the corresponding price based on your budget.

“Carat premium” phenomenon

The higher the diamond grade, the greater the impact of weight on price. This is especially true for critical weight diamonds. When the conditions of color, clarity, and cut are similar, as the weight of the diamond increases, its value increases geometrically, that is, the price is stepped. The price of diamonds = carat squared × carat base price.

For integer fractions, there is a “carat premium” phenomenon between diamond prices. Even if there is only a difference of 1 point, 99 points and the price of 1ct diamonds are very different.

Diamond weight grading standards

According to the habits of the diamond industry, diamonds below 0.05ct are broken diamonds, 0.05ct-0.22ct are small diamonds, 0.23ct-1ct are medium diamonds, 1ct above are large diamonds, 10.8ct-50ct are extra large diamonds, and 50ct above are records Name drilling. Generally speaking, if the color is not rare or there are other special places, only giant diamonds weighing more than 100ct are eligible to be included in the history of world famous diamonds.

National standards less than 0.2 carat are not graded. 0.2 to 1 carat can be graded either by loose diamonds or by inlaid diamonds. Diamonds larger than 1 carat must be graded in detail in accordance with 4C.

In the diamond trade, in order to be simple and practical, diamonds below 6 carats are divided into different weight ranges, which are more delicate. The price is usually divided into ten units: 20-29 points, 50-59 points; each section is a level , Divided into eighteen levels:

Diamond size selection

If you already have a budget in mind, you will find a range of high-quality diamonds for you to choose from within your budget.

  If the other party is very active or unaccustomed to wearing jewelry, and may collide or damage her new ring, you’d better consider choosing a small diamond or a setting that is convenient for protecting large diamonds.

  At the same time, you should also remember: the smaller the size of the finger, the larger the diamond will look. A 1 carat heavy diamond looks much larger on finger number 5 than on finger number 10.

  If you have prepared the setting, please make sure that the diamond you choose is suitable for this setting. You can check the instruction manual of the diamond model you selected or consult the jewelry consultation office about what type of gem you should need.

If the carat weight of a diamond is very important to you, but it cannot exceed the budget, it is recommended that you can choose diamonds with SI1-SI2 clarity and I or J color grade when selecting diamonds, but you should choose when cutting Select the VG level.

Select your currency
USD United States (US) dollar
EUR Euro